Millage Rates

The amount of taxes to be paid is determined by multiplying the appropriate millage rate by the assessed value of a property less its proper exemptions. The governing bodies of the State of Alabama, St. Clair County, local cities and other taxing agencies set millage rates. Assessed values are determined by the defined property class applicable to the property; the State of Alabama defines four classes of property based on use.

A mill equals one-tenth of one cent (.001). When all of the taxing authorities’ millage requests are added together, it is then possible to calculate a total tax bill.

For example, an owner-occupied residence (Class III property) valued at $100,000 would have an assessed value of $10,000, which equals 10% X $100,000. (All Class III property is assessed at 10% of appraised value.) To determine the applicable taxes, the assessed value is multiplied by the appropriate millage rate. If the millage rate were 26 mills, for example, the taxes owed would equal $10,000 X .026 = $260. Note this is the calculated tax before any exemptions have been applied.

Current Millage Rates …

 County 31 Mills
 Leeds 43.2 Mills
 Ashville 36 Mills
 Margaret 36 Mills
 Moody 36 Mills
 Odenville 36 Mills
 Pell City 36 Mills
 Ragland 36 Mills
 Riverside 36 Mills
 Springville 36 Mills
 Steele 36 Mills
 Argo 36 Mills
 Trussville 43 Mills